Recorder Duet - Archway Melodies

Go to content

Main menu:

Instrumentals > Images
"Images" for Unaccompanied Recorder Duet

This work will provide something of a challenge for those who are ahead of the rest of the class.  
You can buy this work on

Listen to a demonstration
The whole suite starts simply and becomes progressively more challenging with each movement,  but will remain simple enough for intermediate players to enjoy.  It uses the white notes from D to D with an accidental F#

The movements are:

  1. The Choir starts out with just half and whole notes and their equivalent rests, allowing the students to get the feel for playing different lines of music, sustaining notes and making a blended sound.
  2. Raindrops introduces quarter notes and helps develop a good staccato style, so bringing those raindrops to life.
  3. The King’s Arrival  introduces eighth notes and uses unison, staccato, legato and sustained notes.
  4. Pipers Calling introduces legato, develops counting skills and interweaving lines of music.
  5. The Haunted House has strange, atmospheric harmonies with a sense of spooky and fun drama.
  6. Lullaby is a gentle work,  teaching smoothness and phrasing and uses many of the techniques found in the previous movements.

Each movement works well individually or performed together in sequence as a complete work.

Included in the pack:
    • MP3s with the recorder playing the melody (Which is a great help while learning the piece)
    • MP3s of just the piano part (Ideal for performance track use, if a live piano is not available)
    • The Full Score in PDF format
    • Recorder Parts in PDF format

If you need anything arranged from this work, or just perhaps something new, please do not hesitate to contact us
Back to content | Back to main menu